Broadwater to return to HCS board

-A A +A
By Kelly Cantrall

Suzy Broadwater will be returning to the Hardin County Schools board in January.

Broadwater was elected to another term to represent Division 5 of the HCS board. It was the only contested school board race in Hardin County.

“I was absolutely thriled,” Broadwater said.

Broadwater was up against Gail Phoenix, president of consulting organization GMP Services in Vine Grove. Phoenix also serves as an adjunct instructor at Lindsey Wilson College and Jefferson Community and Technical College. She has worked as a substitute teacher in school systems in Hardin and Jefferson counties.

Broadwater received 61.3 percent of the vote, 3,068 votes to Phoenix’s 1,940 votes. Ten precincts fall in Division 5, which is in the northern end of the county.

Broadwater said there were so many projects in the works in the district that she wanted to see them through to the end.

“I’ve got irons in the fire and I didn’t want to leave this office” until they were completed, she said.

She mentioned the new schools that the district has planned, including a new elementary school in Cecilia, and renovations such as the ongoing remodeling of North Hardin High School.

“We have 101 things going,” she said.

Broadwater said she wanted to thank voters who elected her and said she would remain open and accessible to them. She said Hardin County residents have much to be proud of in their school system.

“I look forward to a great future with Hardin County Schools,” she said.

Phoenix didn’t return phone messages for comment.

The majority of open seats on the local school boards were filled by uncontested races.

HCS board members Kay Sharon and John Emary ran unopposed for their seats. Sharon in Division 2 received 4,510 votes in 13 precincts and Emary in Division 1 received 3,375 votes in eight precincts.

Matt Wyatt ran unopposed for one of two seats open on the Elizabethtown Independent Schools board. Wyatt received 2,760 votes in eight precincts. The other seat will be filled by an appointee of Commissioner Terry Holiday of the Kentucky Department of Education Commissioner.

EIS board members Dianne Cooper and Tony Kuklinski didn’t seek another term on the board.

West Point Independent School board members Janna Baldridge and Eddie Moore ran unopposed for their seats. Baldridge received 214 votes and Moore received 176 votes, both in one precinct.

Kelly Cantrall can be reached at (270) 505-1747 or kcantrall@thenewsenterprise.com.