The Heritage Council hosted annual dinner in July

-A A +A
By The Staff

1 Surrounded by his family, Ed Poppe receives the Judge R.R. Thomas award.


2 Dana Beth Lyddan and Kathy Helm present Julia Bobick with the Volunteer of the Year award.

3 Jonathan Munrief receives the Friend of the Heritage Council award from Dana Beth Lyddan and Brenda Heady.

4 D. Dee Shaw presents Mr. and Mrs. Ronnie Rogers with the Most Improved property award.

The Elizabethtown-Hardin County Heritage Council hosted its annual dinner July 21 at the Historic State Theater Complex.

Judge Brent Hall of Family Court emceed the event and Chairwoman Ann Scott gave the invocation.

In her Year in Review speech, Scott addressed the Heritage Council’s commitment to downtown and a grass roots effort to keep county government there. She also spoke about a new partnership between the Heritage Council, the National Trust for Historic Preservation and the Army.

Also at the meeting, Julia Bobick was named Volunteer of the Year. Bobick volunteers at the Ghost Walk and the Black and White Ball and serves as a member of the Army-Community Partnership Program.

Howard Pence Construction Company and Bluegrass Ice received the Most Improved Property awards. Both property owners rebuilt their buildings downtown, improving the look of the downtown area.

The Friend of the Heritage Council award went to Jonathan Munrief, who has worked the Ghost Walk, helped to move gravel and planted flowers downtown.

The council also recognized Ed Poppe, who a few weeks earlier received the Judge R.R. Thomas Award. The award goes to an individual or organization that goes above and beyond to support downtown and the community.

Executive Director Dana Beth Lyddan presented Scott with a plaque recognizing her for her service to the Heritage Council as chairwoman, and new officers were announced. They are Chairwoman D. Dee Shaw, Vice Chairwoman Julia Duplessis, Secretary Judy Meyer and Treasurer Michael Hayes.

New board members are Judy Meyer and Sam Young.

For more information about the Heritage Council or the State Theater, call (270) 234-8258 or go online to www.ehcheritagecouncil.org or www.historicstatetheater.org.