Jan. 13, 2012: Our readers write

-A A +A

Recognizing hard work
In January, Kentucky and many other states observe School Board Recognition Month, acknowledging school board members for the leadership they demonstrate and the many hours they invest as links between the community and its schools.  For their individual and collective dedication, our school community is honoring these men and women during this month-long tribute.
Serving our school community in this capacity requires thoughtful and difficult decision-making.  Although their main body of work focuses on district policy and prioritizing spending, the board has a direct impact on its greatest resource – our students. While making informed decisions regarding million dollar budgets and multi-million dollar building projects, they ensure that every dollar’s value reaps the greatest possible instructional outcome.  Balancing the needs of students with the revenues available is a massive responsibility.
I am proud to work alongside the members of the Elizabethtown Independent Schools Board of Education. I have witnessed our board members sacrificing and contributing many hours above and beyond the regularly scheduled board meetings to ensure an education of the highest quality. They are truly team members who work in a very cooperative and professional manner while continually striving to make the very best decisions for the future of our students, this tremendous school district, and the community.  
Members of the Elizabethtown Independent Schools Board of Education will be recognized publicly for their steadfast service at the Jan. 17 board meeting. District principals, along with the Kentucky School Board Association, will present certificates of appreciation to our board members.  Additionally, Mayor Tim Walker has declared January 2012 an observance of School Board Recognition Month for the entire Elizabethtown community.
On behalf of the Elizabethtown Independent Schools community, I want to offer a very sincere and respectful thank you to Mrs. Dianne Cooper (15 years of service), Mr. Paul Godfrey (five years of service),  Mrs. Teresa Harris (one year of service),  Mr. Tony Kuklenski (three years of service), and Mr. Guy Wallace (five years of service). We appreciate their passion, leadership, and commitment to the mission of Elizabethtown Independent Schools:
Tradition of Excellence: High Standards, Each Student, Every Day.
Gary French
Elizabethtown Independent