PREP SPORTS: All-Area Teams released (07/04)

-A A +A

The Fourth of July is a time for parades, picnics and, of course, fireworks. But what would the holiday be without sports?

The News-Enterprise unveils its annual spring sports All-Area Teams and it’s a Star-Spangled cast.

The spring provided us plenty of fireworks. North Hardin won the boys’ and girls’ Class 3-A state championships in track. Central Hardin advanced to the state tournament in both baseball and softball. Elizabethtown won another region championship in girls’ tennis, while Central Hardin won its first boys’ region title.

Central Hardin won nine individual awards followed by Elizabethtown and North Hardin both with six.

Central Hardin took three of the four awards in baseball. Senior Troy Squires was named Area Player of the Year, senior Drew Harrington Area Pitcher of the Year and Todd Thompson Area Coach of the Year. Elizabethtown’s Zeke Pinkham took Area Sophomore of the Year honors. The Bruins also dominated the team with seven selections.

In softball, Central Hardin sophomore Kelsey McGuffin earned two awards – Area Player and Sophomore of the Year. She is the second consecutive player to win both awards after Meade County junior Ashley Nikolao did it last year. Central Hardin also took the other two awards as Jamie Goodman was named the top coach and junior Jessica Nall the best pitcher.

North Hardin swept all of the track awards. On the girls’ side, Kianna Gray earned Area Athlete and Sophomore of the Year honors, while John Russell was named the top coach. On the boys’ side, junior Dante Johnson was selected the Area Athlete of the Year, Antonio Parker Area Sophomore of the Year and James Webb Area Coach of the Year. The state champions took nine of the 20 All-Area spots – five on the girls’ team and four on the boys.

In tennis, Elizabethtown swept the girls’ awards. Junior Natalie Fiepke was selected Area Player of the Year, Mackenzie and Mary-Chapin Snow Area Doubles Team of the Year, Lauran Berger Area Sophomore of the Year and Karen Henson Area Coach of the Year. On the boys’ side, Central Hardin took two awards with Hares and Vasu Patel being named the best doubles team and Eric Mitchell and Jacob Blevins the top coaches. John Hardin’s Tyler Edlin earned Area Player of the Year honors, while Elizabethtown’s Hassan Nasir was the Area Sophomore of the Year.