Today's Features

  • Kayla and Neal Green of Clarkson announce the birth of a daughter, Lily Ann Green, on April 25, 2012, at Hardin Memorial Hospital. She weighed 7 pounds, 10 ounces and was 20 inches long.

    Grandparents are Steve and Anna Booker of Elizabethtown and William and Robin Green of Clarkson.

    Great-grandparents are Bonnie and Ernast Haycraft and Burnese and Donnie Embry, all of Clarkson, and Katherine Booker. Great-great-grandparents are Kathleen Booker and Evelyn Floyd.

  • Howevalley

    Andrea Sherrard Gilpin, 735-7845

    We sure have had some variety in the weather lately. Some days the temperatures reached in the 90s and then there was some rain and the temperatures went back down. Hope everyone is enjoying their summer break from school.

    HAPPY RETIREMENT. Congratulations to Elaine Sallee on her retirement from teaching at Howevalley Elementary School and becoming a Kentucky Colonel.

  • Don and Ann Henriott will celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary with an open house at 2 p.m. June 10, 2012, at their home in Eastview.

    They were married June 10, 1962, at Ralph Avenue Church of Christ in Louisville, by the Rev. Morris Hardwick.

    They have three children, Laura Henriott, Ronald Henriott and Susan Henriott; and four grandsons.

    All friends and relatives are invited to attend the open house.

  • The following marriage licenses have been issued in Hardin County.

    Andrea Paige Hanna, 22, and Timothy Aaron Davis, 23, both of Elizabethtown.

    Donna Lynn Mellette, 34, Radcliff, and Kevin Jerrod Ardoin, 29, Fort Knox.

    Nakai Leigh Jackson, 22, Hodgenville, and Douglas Matthew Earhart, 25, Fort Knox.

    Melissa Sue McQuillen, 36, and James Anthony Fisher Jr., 33, both of Vine Grove.

    Cierra Chantel Harris, 24, and Corderro Leonardo Johnson, 23, both of Elizabethtown.

  • The following marriage dissolutions have been granted in Hardin Circuit Court in Elizabethtown.

    Steven Sherrod, 37, and Deanna Smith, 43, both of Radcliff. Married seven years.

    Ronald Lavell Atkins, 42, Harker Heights, Texas, and Keira Denise Hardy, 30, Rineyville. Married nine years.

    Daniel Anthony Wheeler, 27, Elizabethtown, and Jeanette Lynn Monahan, 27, Shepherdsville. Married four years.

    Tommy L. Brown Sr., 45, and Trish R. Hunt, 40, both of Vine Grove. Married 15 years.

  • The following cases of Driving Under the Influence and the resolution of those cases are found in Hardin District Court Division I in Elizabethtown. ADE is an abbreviation for Alcohol Driver Education, BAC is the Blood Alcohol Concentration reading, KAPS stands for Kentucky Alternative Programs, EIP stands for Early Intervention Program and VIP stands for Victims Impact Panel. A service fee is added to all DUIs and court costs are added to all charges. Birth year is in parenthesis.


  • The following misdemeanor cases are found in Hardin District Court Division I in Elizabethtown. KAPS stands for Kentucky Alternative Programs. Totals include court costs and/or public advocacy fees. Birth year is in parenthesis.

    Matthew F. Nottingham (1990). Criminal trespassing. Total $255.

    Jeremiah E. Selig (1980). Criminal trespassing. Total $255.

    StanleyEugene Keith (1965). Theft by unlawful taking. Twelve months in jail, serve 89 days balance probated for two years on conditions in the order. Court costs waived.

  • The Woman’s Club of Elizabethtown recently made several donations to community organizations and groups including The American Red Cross. Pictured is Martha Mengel, left, 2010-12 president, presenting a check to Red Cross Representative Cynthia Lineberger. Other groups not pictured are Hardin County Schools Performing Arts Center, Hardin County Educational Television, Kentucky Education Television, Greenspace, Hardin County History Museum, Youth Theatre of Hardin County, Hardin/LaRue Medical Clinic and Helping Hands of Hope.

  • The Mu Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International met May 12 at Central Hardin High School. Following time for nutrition and networking, President Nora Sweat called the meeting to order and welcomed guests.

    Ramona Jeffries, Scholarship Committee chair, gave the program on the scholarships given to members and nonmembers. Scholarships have been given to several Mu chapter members for financial help while they worked on master’s degrees and national board certifications.