Today's Features

  • The following building permit information has been obtained from Hardin County Planning and Development Commission and the City of Elizabethtown Planning and Development offices. The name of the applicant, applicant’s address and use of permit are listed.

    Raleigh Adams, 293 Timberline Trail Lane, county. Use: accessory structure.

    Annette West, 103 Shepherds Way, county. Use: basement finish.

    Jesse Hawkins, property on Copelin Road, county. Use: double-wide foundation.

  • The following property transfers are listed as given on deeds at the Hardin County Clerk’s Office in Elizabethtown.

    Cordell and Vonda Tabb to South Mulberry LLC, 317 Cardin St., Elizabethtown, $17,500.

    Janet Raby Hall to Kari Hall, lot 18 Terrace Hills Subdivision, county, love and affection. FMV: $148,000.

    Janet Raby Hall to Kari Hall, lot 14 Gateway Villa North Subdivision, Elizabethtown, love and affection. FMV: $78,000.

  • Three local musicians have Nashville dreams as they share the stage in a newly formed group, Seven to Shine.

    Zac Charles, Josh Proctor and Rebekah Lynn had solo careers of their own until they teamed up three months ago to form the country band.

    Charles posted a flyer at Elizabethtown Community and Technical College about wanting to form a band. Proctor saw it and they decided to work together. They decided they needed a woman to produce the sound they wanted. Proctor previously worked with Lynn, and it all came together.

  • Joyce Lupresto was awarded Artist of the Month in the general membership category for her watercolor painting, “City Market.” at the December meeting of the Central Kentucky Art Guild. There will be no meetings of the Guild for the months of January and February.  The next meeting is March 17, at 790 North Dixie Hwy, Suite 500 in Elizabethtown.  For information, contact Debbye, 270-307-7590.

  • Girls from St. James Catholic Regional School came out to watch their fellow Girl Scouts in Troop 1558 perform in The Nutcracker at the Hardin County Performing Arts Center.

  • The Hardin County AM Rotary Club members from left,  Jack Morrison, President Daniel Tabb, Dawn Lonneman Blair, Scott Kisselbaugh, Cindy Gibson and Keith Rogers donated more than nine bags of winter coats to Helping Hand of Hope in Elizabethtown on Dec. 13. These coats will go to help children and adults within the Hardin County community.


    The Technology Transfer Program of the Kentucky Transportation Center announces that 124 Roads Scholars and 120 Road Masters have completed the 2013 Kentucky Roads Scholars/Road Masters Training Program.

    To honor their outstanding efforts and commitment to quality roads in Kentucky, graduates were honored Nov. 26at Morehead Conference Center in Morehead; Dec. 11 at Rough River Dam State Resort Park in Falls of Rough; and Dec. 12at Lake Cumberland State Resort Park in Jamestown.

  • The Northern Hardin County Democratic Woman’s Club held its annual officer installation dinner Dec. 16, at Colvin Community Center.

    A club member is selected each year to receive the Tangie Crusott Award, named in honor of the first president of the club who died from cancer in 2006. The recipient for the 2013 award is Dorothy Phillips, who is a dedicated member of the Hospitality Committee.