Today's Features

  • The following property transfers are listed as given on deeds at the Hardin County Clerk’s Office in Elizabethtown. 

    Melissa and Tony Hart to Bert M. and Stephanie M. Baker, 424 Jey Drive, Elizabethtown, $207,000.

    Roger Wayne Killey to Jeffrey Lee Kolley, 633 Summit Road, Eastview, $17,000.

    Willie E. Jr. and Geri L. Wilson to Gregory J. and Jerelyn K. Whelan, 107 McCLendon Hills Lane, Elizabethtown, $277,000.

    Fox-KHI LLC to Ian M. and Kathryn Fuller, 124 Vineland Parkway Drive, Vine Grove, $270,000.

  • A local country group’s goal is obvious. It’s in the band’s name. Tennessee Bound is a group of five Elizabethtown teenagers with its eyes set on making it in Nashville.

    Kevin Jaggers (lead singer and guitar), Austin Barnes (drummer) and Jake Keplinger (rhythm guitar) began playing together in 2009. When they started looking at options of playing in Nashville, they knew they needed a new dynamic and added brothers Collie (lead guitar) and Reilly Crawford (bass).

  • Early settlers of Hardin County are among those represented in the latest in a series of books by a Kansas author who found help in her research from two Elizabethtown residents.

    “A Journey of Voices: Stewards of the Land” is the second in a series of historical books by Diane Gladow. It tells the story of the Crume family which is connected to Abraham Lincoln’s family.

    “They are my mother’s family,” Gladow said. “She was a Crume.”

  • At the June 18 Elizabethtown Lions Club Installation Dinner, Immediate Past President Morris Bottoms turns his Lions gavel over to incoming president Gary Miles. Both Lions stated their dedication to living the international Lions Club motto, “We serve.”

  • Valerie Hicks, vice president of The Lincoln Trail Area Master Gardeners, gave a class teaching the basics of leaf casting as part of the Hardin County Cooperative Extension Service Gardeners Toolbox series. She had a great turnout and everyone had fun making their works of art.

  • Vine Grove Chapter No. 122 Order of the Eastern Star, honored the military by making home-made cookies. They started collecting names and addresses of some service members over the past month. Several chapter members donated money to help defray the cost of mailing. Then they went to work and members and friends made more than 170 dozen cookies. Then on July 17, the group gathered to complete the boxing and mailing efforts. A total of 25 boxes now have been mailed. Each military person received a thank you card for their service to the country along with the sweet treats from home.

  • The POW/MIA Flag Guard held its first annual awards ceremony July 6. Vietnam Veteran Motorcycle Club Chapter B hosted the event. Volunteers were recognized for their support and participation in flag guard ceremonies and its petition drive and other activities.

    At the ceremony, flag guard co-founder Loretta Sherod noted the number of homeless veterans in Louisville and that many suffer post-traumatic stress disorder.

    “This are presioners of that war. They are missing in action,” she said.

  • Russell and Alpha Hack Knight of Radcliff will celebrate their 67th wedding anniversary today, July 25, 2013.

    They were married July 25, 1946, at Greta Green Wedding Chapel in Yuma, Ariz., by the Rev. J.G. Anderson.

    Mr. Knight was born in Clay City in Powell County and spent most of his younger years in Quicksand in Breathitt County. He also served in the Navy during Word War II.

    Mrs. Knight was born and raised in South.

    The couple, who have no children of their own, raised a special nephew, Ronald Charles Hack.

  • “Red 2” continues the adventures of ex-CIA agent Frank Moses, played again by Bruce Willis, and his rag-tag spy friends.

    The film has action, comedy and actors who are 55 and older showing they still can handle an action film. The youngest star of the flick in his 40s, and that’s a good thing.