• T.K. Stone class is on the ball

    One teacher at T.K. Stone Middle School is taking a new approach to classroom furniture.

    Sixth- and seventh-grade reading and language arts teacher Kerrie Bal removed the traditional student desks from her classroom and replaced them with yoga balls at the beginning of the school year.

  • Reception welcomes Ellis as WKU regional chancellor

    Dr. Evelyn Ellis stood in front of her husband, family, friends and new colleagues Tuesday afternoon at Elizabethtown Com­­m­unity and Tech­nical College as they welcomed her to her new job as regional chancellor of the Elizabethtown and Fort Knox campuses of Western Kentucky University.

  • Student ACT scores in Hardin County, EIS highest ever

    Each spring for seven years, high school juniors in Kentucky public schools have been taking the ACT, a college-entrance exam. The latest ACT released data indicates the performance of the spring 2014 exams in Hardin County Schools are the best since the test has been required by the Kentucky Department of Education.

  • HCS board holds tax rate

    In a unanimous vote Thursday, the Hardin County Schools Board of Education voted to hold steady the compensating tax rate for the 2014-15 school year.

  • EIS offers new sports

    Elizabethtown High School will add three new activities to its athletics program this year.

    In a monthly school board meeting Tuesday afternoon, the Elizabethtown Independent Schools district board unanimously approved the additions of archery, bowling and bass fishing to the Elizabethtown High School athletic program.

  • Elizabethtown woman named Wells Scholar at Indiana University

    Naomi Kellogg, a May 2014 graduate from Carol Martin Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science in Bowling Green, has been selected as one of 17 members of the 25th Herman B. Wells Scholar class at Indiana University.

  • EIS to honor distinguished alumni

    Elizabethtown Inde­pendent Schools will award eight alumni with a Tradition of Excellence Alumni Award in Sept­ember.

    Those awarded this year are Lawrence R. French, Robert C. (Bobby) Hamilton, Ann Hodges, Scott Hubbard, Paul Edward Kerrick, Ken Maffet, M.D., Col. Constance L. Garrett Scott and Gary P. West.

  • John Hardin FFA ranks in top 3 percent

    John Hardin High School’s FFA, has been named a two-star chapter by the National FFA Organization. The rating, announced Aug. 8, places John Hardin in the top 3 percent of all FFA chapters throughout the United States.

  • Speaker educates students on Web usage, bullying

    An author and consultant from Lexington spoke Friday to a group of about 100 sixth-graders at Bluegrass Middle School, proclaiming, “the Internet is forever.”

  • Bus drivers teach students safety

    Quinton Higgins stood Wednesday morning next to the center emergency exit door on a school bus at North Middle School. The door was near the same area he sat on the Radcliff First Assembly of God church bus on May 14, 1988, when drunken driver Larry Mahoney triggered the worst drunken driving crash in U.S. history.