Today's News

  • PREP SOCCER ROUNDUP: North ties North Bullitt, 0-0 (08/20)

    The News-Enterprise Sophomore keeper Tyler Malcolm made seven saves to help the North Hardin Trojans preserve a 0-0 tie against visiting North Oldham on Thursday. The shutout was Malcolm’s first and North Hardin’s first since beating Graves County, 5-0 last season. The teams combined for 19 shots on goal – nine for North Hardin (1-0-1) and 10 for North Bullitt. UP

  • Aug. 3: Our readers write

    Focus of loyalty needs to change It’s hard to imagine having to worry about your home flooding whenever there is a heavy rain. It’s even harder to imagine this happening to someone living within the city limits, especially after being told several times that a fix has either been done or is under way. But what is absolutely maddeni

  • PREP GOLF ROUNDUP: Saturday's Results (08/23)

    BOYS’ PREP SATURDAY’S EVENTS GRAYSON COUNTY INVITATIONAL LEITCHFIELD — Results from Saturday’s Grayson County Invitational at the par-72 Legacy Golf Course: North Hardin (350) Ryan Daniels                          &nbsp

  • PREP VOLLEYBALL ROUNDUP: Saturday's Results (08/22)

    The News-Enterprise The Elizabethtown Lady Panthers went 4-1 on Saturday to finish third in Louisville Ioquois’ First Spike Invitational at the Ohio Valley Volleyball Center. Elizabethtown went 3-0 in pool play with wins against Louisville Beth Haven (25-13, 25-20), Louisville Portland Christian (25-9, 25-20) and Jeffersontown (25-21, 25-11). Elizabethtown fell to Christian Academy-Lo

  • Local NAACP rolling out political forums



    The Hardin County Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People will be active in this year’s election, creating several outlets in which candidates can be heard sounding off about issues of importance.

    The NAACP has scheduled a series of political forums in August and September for a number of state and local races.

  • GIRLS' PREP GOLF: Central Hardin tournament features loaded field (08/20)

    By NATHANIEL BRYAN nbryan@thenewsenterprise.com Saturday’s annual Central Hardin Lady Bruin Invitational at Fort Knox’s Lindsey Golf Course is bigger than most high school girls’ invitationals. It might be better too. Nearly 100 players from 15 full teams and 10 other programs are slated to compete in the afternoon, in what has become one of the state’s prem

  • Veterans town hall meeting Tuesday

    By JOHN FRIEDLEIN jfriedlein@thenewsenterprise.com Among the many local veterans events planned for next week is a town hall meeting about benefits. The Heartland Coalition of Military Veterans will have service officers and others on hand Tuesday to inform veterans and their spouses about what may be due to them from the Department of Veterans Affairs, according to a

  • Ron Harrell joins editorial board

    Ron Harrell, chief institutional advancement officer at Elizabethtown Community and Technical College, has joined The News-Enterprise's editorial board as a 13-week member.

    The board determines the editorial stance of the newspaper as it reviews, discusses and collectively formulates opinions regarding items in the news or topics of general community interest.

  • PREP FOOTBALL: Central Hardin downs Logan County in season opener (08/22)

    By CHUCK JONES cjones@thenewsenterprise.com Central Hardin coach Mike Lawson can’t belt out a song like Meat Loaf, but even he’d agree two out of three ain’t bad. Prior to Friday’s game, Lawson wanted his team to accomplish three things, and while the list wasn’t completed, the Bruins did more than enough to pu

  • College daze


    Hardin County students who have attended Carol Martin Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science in Kentucky: 

    Central Hardin High School

    Alison Cox 2008

    Nathan Griffin 2009

    Rebecca Morgan 2010

    Hunter Smith 2010

    Zachary Laux 2011

    Joshua Robinson 2011

    Samantha McKean 2012

    Elizabethtown High School

    Angela Dao 2008

    Tyler Jury 2008

    James Lutz 2008

    Madeline Buhr 2011

    Natalie Schieber 2011

    Jonathan Serpico 2011