Today's News

  • What to do with a pond?

    By BECCA OWSLEY bowsley@thenewsenterprise.com A natural pond on your property can be a lovely water feature, but depending on the season and water source, sometimes landscaping possibilities are limited.

  • March 15 Marriages

    The following marriage licenses have been issued in Hardin County.

    April Lace Ferguson, 27, Vine Grove, and Joey Alan Brown, 26, Radcliff.

    Tara Diane Buffkin, 33, and William David Wallace, 37, both of Fort Knox.

    Cheryl Gail Thomas, 42, and James David Thomas, 49, both of Elizabethtown.

    April Ann Powell, 32, and John Douglas Lamb, 42, both of Campbellsville.

    Carol Anne Purdy, 42, and Benjamin Boix Jr., 57, both of Elizabethtown.

    Melissa Kay Cherry, 39, and Mark Anthony Stamper Sr., 37, both of Radcliff.

  • 3-13 Religion Briefs


  • World UniTea funds to aid end-of-life care

    By JOHN FRIEDLEIN jfriedlein@thenewsenterprise.com ELIZABETHTOWN — Despite these tough economic times, Hosparus — Hospice of Central Kentucky — has sold out tickets to a yearly fundraising tea and silent auction. More than 350 people on Saturday are expected to attend the 15th annual event at Severns Valley Baptist Church, said Lisa Sanford, director of development

  • Rid your home of energy hogs


    Energy efficiency is at the top of everyone’s mind these days. Even schools are teaching students to be energy conscious with the focus on conservation and reduction of energy consumption. 

  • Minding the markets

    By KELLY RICHARDSON krichardson@thenewsenterprise.com HARDIN COUNTY — While the number of houses sold in the past year has decreased both locally and nationally, the local and national housing markets are two different entities, and don’t alwa

  • 3-4 Lending a Hand


  • 3-19 NEIGHBORS BUDGET Loyal Subscribers—Allen and Ann Case of Elizabethtown         CELEBRATIONS—                Wooden Birthday                       2.

  • March 19 editorial: Buckles was successful with class

    In the 19 seasons that Terry Buckles roamed the sidelines as Central Hardin High School's girls' head basketball coach, that same school went through four boys' head basketball and four head football coaches. But there was stability in the girls' basketball program from start to finish. But for the Lady Bruins, one of the state's top programs, Buckles had a long and successful tenure

  • March 19: Services


    Marvin Kenneth “Ken” Barksdale, 79, died Saturday, March 14, 2009. The memorial service is at 2 p.m. Saturday at Brandenburg United Methodist Church. Visitation is from noon to 2 p.m. Saturday at the church. Bruington-Jenkins-Sturgeon Funeral Home in Brandenburg is in charge of arrangements.