Several Central Har­din High School 2020 graduates recently were recognized by Central Kentucky Community Foundation for receiving scholarships offered to students at their school.

Shelby Fugate was awarded the Brent Wagoner Excellence in Education Scholarship. Fugate plans to attend the University of Kentucky to study engineering. She is the daughter of Henry and Robin Fugate. The Brent Wagoner Excellence in Education Scholarship was established by the East Hardin Middle School faculty and staff to honor their late coworker’s dedication and passion for education. The $500 scholarship is offered to Central Hardin High School graduating seniors who attended East Hardin.

Macy Jent received the Audrey Shoulders Memorial Scholarship. Jent plans to attend Murray State University to study agribusiness management. She is the daughter of Darren and Mandy Jent. The Audrey Shoulders Me­morial Scholarship was established in 2017, by her parents, George and Beth Shoulders, to honor Audrey’s memory and help other stu­dents attend college. This $500 scholarship is awarded yearly to a CHHS senior that is a member of the FFA or on the CHHS Archery Team, two organizations that were important to Audrey.

Jent also received the Hardin County Cattle­men’s Association – Wayne G. Overall, Jr. Memorial Scholarship. This $1,000 scholarship is awarded each year to a member of the association in the memory of Cattlemen member Overall Jr., who left a legacy within the organization.

Bailey M. Thomas was awarded the Glenn D. and Bennie Lou Ham­mons Family Scho­larship. Thomas plans to attend Murray State University to study agri­business. She is the daughter of Shaun Thomas and Dorothy May. The Glenn D. and Bennie Lou Hammons Family Scholarship was established in 2018 and awards $750 annually to a resident of Hardin County.

Connor Wilkerson was awarded the Hardin County Bar Association Teen Court Scholarship. Wilkerson plans to attend Bellarmine Univer­sity to study English. He is the son of Eddie and Crystal Wilkerson. The Hardin County Bar Association is comprised of practicing attorneys in the Hardin County Justice System. A portion of dues paid by each Bar member is used to fund this $2,000 scholarship awarded to an outstanding student in the Hardin County or Elizabethtown Inde­pendent school systems. The qualities of the recipient are excellence in school, dedication to the community, an overall stellar attitude exemplifying good citizenship and a keen sense of justice and fair play in their attitude towards others.

Xander Allen was the recipient of the Har­din County Prin­cipal Organization Scho­lar­ship. Allen plans to attend Campbellsville University to study his­tory education and educational ministries. He is the son of David and Jennifer Allen. The Hardin County Principal Organization is an informal network for school principals to support each other both professionally and personally throughout the school year. The $500 scholarship supports the dedication and commitment to a Hardin County graduate planning a future as an education professional.

Mason Troutt received the J.T. Wigles­worth Automotive Scho­larship. Troutt plans to attend Elizabethtown Community and Tech­nical College to study automotive technology. He is the son of Joshua and Melissa Troutt. John Thomas Wiglesworth was a 17-year-old student in the Automotive program at EC3 when he was killed in a car accident traveling between schools. Johnny loved cars and music, playing guitar, bass and drums. He was active in his church’s praise band and in the Chrysalis community in Louisville. The $1,000 scholarship supports an automotive student in the post-secondary training.

Tori Clan received the Lanny Skees Me­morial Scholarship. Clan plans to attend Western Kentucky University to study agriculture education. She is the daughter of Scottie and Angel Clan. The Lanny Skees Memorial Scholarship was established in 2012 by Normaline Skees to honor her husband’s dedication to agriculture and the community. The $2,000 scholarship is offered to Central Hardin High School students planning to attend Western Kentucky University and study in an agricultural field.

Garrett Jenkins is the recipient of the Mac Michaelis Scholarship. Jenkins plans to attend Elizabethtown Com­mu­nity and Technical College to study criminal justice. He is the son of Jeff and Leeanne Jenkins. The Mac Mich­aelis Memorial Scholarship was established at Central Kentucky Community Foundation in 2010, by Alice Michaelis and other family members to honor Mac’s work in law enforcement. This $500 scholarship is offered each year to local graduates pursuing a degree in the law enforcement field.

Kaleb Adams was awarded the Mike and Sharon Bell Scholarship. Adams plans to attend the University of Louis­ville to study engineering. He is the son of Cameron and Kristan Adams. Fifty years ago, Mike and Sharon began their ministry to the congregation at Glendale Christian Church. Little did anyone realize the gift our community received when the church called Mike and Sharon. This year in gratitude of their 50 years of service, Glendale Christian Church established the Mike and Sharon Bell Scholarship to ensure their legacy of kindness endures. It’s a tribute to both their passion for the church and their passion for the people of our community, for their service went beyond the church. This scholarship will award $1,000 annually to a student who is a current Hardin County Water District No. 2 cus­tomer or an active member of Glendale Christian Church for at least five years.

“Through the generosity of our donors, students across our region can continue their education,” said Davette B. Swiney, president and CEO of CKCF. “Our scholarship program, Scholarship Central, is a great way to empower local students and show them the impact of philanthropy. It’s an honor to connect people to the causes they care about while helping people pursue their educational goals.”

The scholarships are some of the 170 scholarships being awarded by CKCF this year through Scholarship Central. The scholarships total nearly $322,000 and were awarded to 145 students from 17 high schools and four colleges in the region. All scholarship awards were announced during Celebrating Achievement, Central Kentucky Community Foundation’s scholarship awards program, which can be viewed at

To establish a scholarship fund or for information on this scholarship and other scholarships available, go to