Because of COVID-19, the 34th Camp­bells­ville University’s annual Excellence in Teaching Award Program Ceremony was canceled.

However, among 217 teachers in Kentucky, five of them from Hardin County Schools and Elizabethtown Independent Schools received the Excellence in Teaching Award. Twenty-two of the teachers have Campbellsville College or University degrees and nine teachers are National Certified Teachers.

“Teachers deserve recognition for pouring themselves into the lives of our P-12 students. Teachers not only serve students in the classroom, but they make profound impacts in their students’ personal lives and on their future,” said Dr. Donna Hedgepath, provost and vice president for academic affairs.

The Hardin County Schools recipients are Kim Thompson, a fourth-grade teacher at G.C. Burkhead Elementary School; Te’Andra Parker, an eighth-grade teacher at North Middle School, and Stacey Moore, a junior and senior level English teacher at John Hardin High School.

The E’town schools recipients include Kelly Kean-Davenport, a first-grade teacher at Helmwood Heights Elementary School and Helena Freedlund, a sixth and seventh-grade science teacher at T.K. Stone Middle School.

Hedgepath, herself a teacher and university professor for several years, would have been present for the ceremony with Dr. Lisa Allen, dean of the School of Education.

“During this time of pandemic, teachers have had to be creative and flexible problem solvers in delivering relevant, timely instruction to their students,” Allen said. “The teachers who are EIT recipients this year have and will continue to find innovative ways to lead, to teach and to help students succeed regardless of the learning challenges presented by COVID 19.”

A total of 4,163 Kentucky teachers have been honored since the program began in 1987 with assistance from Earl Aaron and the Ward, Cundiff and Aaron Memorial Fund. The purpose of the program is to recognize the quality teaching and learning taking place in the school systems throughout Kentucky. 

The program is in partnership with Lexington’s CBS-affiliate, WKYT-TV, and the teachers are selected by their school districts in each grade level.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.
Terms of Use. The complete terms of use policy can be found at the bottom of this page.