Hardin County primary results. Vote totals do not include mail-in or in-person absentee ballots.

U.S. SENATE. Voters overwhelmingly went with Republican incumbent Mitch McConnell. He earned 86.6 percent of the vote, finishing with 2,776 votes.

C. Wesley Morgan was second with 139 vote and Louis Grider of Hardin County placed third with 111 votes.

On the Democratic side, Charles Booker leads Amy McGrath by more than 400 votes. Booker has 1,215 votes and McGrath 800.

McConnell, who was declared winner of the Republican primary Tuesday night, will face either Booker or McGrath in November.

2nd DISTRICT U.S. REPRESENTATIVE. Republican incumbent Brett Guthrie so far has received nearly 87 percent of the Hardin County vote with 2,748. Kathleen Free picked up 411 votes. Guthrie was declared the Republican district winner Tuesday night.

Guthrie will face Hank Linderman, a Democrat, in November.

PRESIDENT. President Donald Trump won over Hardin County voters with 3,069 votes. There were 186 Republican votes for uncommitted.

Joe Biden won the Democratic primary in Hardin County with 1,441 votes. Bernie Sanders was second with 301 votes and there were 333 uncommitted votes locally in that primary.

26TH DISTRICT STATE REP. Incumbent state Rep. Russell Webber of Shepherdsville held a commanding lead in the primary over Paul Ham, a Shepherdsville businessman.

With 17 of 22 polls reporting in Bullitt as of 10 p.m. Tuesday, Webber led 911-226. The 26th District covers parts of northern Hardin County with precincts in Colesburg, Longview, Shelton, Helm and part of Fort Knox.

Webber led Ham by a 195-36 count in Hardin County.

The winner of the primary will face Randall Daniel of Shepherdsville, a member of the Libertarian Party, in the November general election.

27TH DISTRICT STATE REP. Meade County Democrats Brian Chism and Stacy Crosslin are in a tight race in Hardin County with Chism leading 141-125.

The 27th District comprises all of Meade County plus seven precincts in Radcliff plus West Point and a part of Fort Knox.

The winner will challenge first-term Republican Nancy Tate this fall.

There were no results available from Meade County by the newspaper’s deadline Tuesday.

RADCLIFF CITY COUNCIL. Candidates for Radcliff City Council now have an idea where they stand in the eyes of voters from the results so far.

There were 13 candidates on the ballot, however, Jacob Pearman has dropped out of the race after moving out of the city district. He still finished sixth in voting.

Twelve candidates advance out of a primary to the general election in Radcliff and Pearman’s exit provided the number needed.

Incumbents Chris Yates, Tanya Seabrooks, Kim Thompson and Barbara Baker were among the top six vote-getters with Yates leading the way with 460 votes — 54 more than Seabrooks.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.
Terms of Use. The complete terms of use policy can be found at the bottom of this page.